“Remember no one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

 

We are the captain of our own ship. We determine what goes on, what comes in and what we allow to happen.  There maybe some who would say, fate has its ways that could turn things around for us.  Yes, that maybe true but how you react to that determine what will be the outcome of that situation.  For no one has the power over you, unless you let them.

I remember my friend saying that I shouldn’t be just a doormat.  I maybe the one in need at some point but that doesn’t mean they can walk all over me.  I should be able to draw the line between being good at what I do and just doing what is asked of me to do.  Just like at work, of course everyone wants to be that dutiful employee.  This is so because you’d want your boss to notice you in a good way.  You probably would think if I do a really good job at something he would notice the skills that I have and what I am actually capable of doing.  But does that include to be at their every beckon call?  Does that involve crossing the line and making them rule over what you think, how you feel, and your notion of right and wrong?  No, by doing so you loose yourself in the process.  You become their shadow, a puppet that they can just do with whatever they please.

There should be a line, and you should know when to draw that line.  Think of it this way, if you were them would you do as they do?  Or would that seem too much?  You can be a good employee, a good follower but at the same time stay true to what you are, what you believe and what you stand for.

PING BACK: Patricia’s Place

17 thoughts on ““Remember no one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

Add yours

  1. Good post. You do have to make sure you don’t lose who you are in whatever you do, and most definitely try to maintain your happiness and integrity!! Thanks for sharing. #InOtherWords

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re most welcome and thank you for reading it too 🙂 It was hard at first y’know, but the more I realize my worth as a person and as an individual contributor the more I see that I don’t have to agree at all times.

      Like

    1. Yeah, like sometimes when you are new at work too and you want to belong. I realized that to belong one shouldn’t bend out who you are just so everyone would like you. I guess its human nature or the need to be a part of something, right but it shouldn’t change who you are and what you believe in.

      Like

  2. It is important to find balance in all aspects of life. Who we are is important. Yes, we want to improve ourselves but not to be who others want us to be at the expense of who we are within. As you write this often happens in the workplace. When it happens we are not the only ones hurt but those who would benefit from the person we lose too.
    Thank you for sharing your wise thoughts with In Other Words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very much welcome. I’d like to think that in this fast paced world we live in we have all come to adapt to the change and come into terms with things that protects a person’s individuality. No one should be imposed to do something that won’t be beneficial for them too, as a person and an individual contributor to the community.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

submission to the Wolf

my experience in BDSM

Mother. Wife. Me.

Where life as a mom, wife, and being me is upside down, backwards, & turned all around.

Beholding Him Ministries

Grace, hope and Truth for each day.

Disabled and Doing It

You can still be a freak in the sheets

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Content of Cognition

My process of perceiving, thinking, reasoning & analyzing. From my experiences, you'll find universal truths. Hear my views on what's happening. You don't have to agree with my opinion, but know it exists.

Sheanne

A wee lass on a mission

Feast Upon the Words of Christ

An invitation to learn from my personal "feast upon the words of Christ" (2 Nephi 32:3)

Inked Thoughts and Midnight Monologues

A fluid state of being with a memorable trail, through a river full of thoughts I sail. Leaving the labyrinths of a chaotic world behind, it’s a journey through the jungles of my subconscious mind.

Strengths Life

be your greatness | StrengthsFinder

simply.cindy

sharing my love for little ones, literacy, and learning

BrewNSpew

Whimsical & Capricious Chatter

kidscrumbsandcrackers

Kids - I`m like the old woman who lived in a shoe - Crumbs, my house is full of them - Crackers, Im slowly going

Who is Tomika M Brown Today?

A blog about living as a wife, mother, best selling author, education coach , speaker & motivator

Crazy Talks....

Heart-o-fool with head-so-wise , both blah blah blahing

My World With Words

Pieces of the Whole

A Writer's Reflections

Perspectives of a thinker, booklover, and child of God

My Mixed Blog

Short stories, everything outdoors, SCI recovery, my lifetime experiences, humor.

A Wayward Scribblez

"To be yourself is the greatest success because for this you need to face the toughest battle ever."

Nerdsakhi

"Write To Inspire"

#Life begins at #storyteller j d goswami

Life begins at- #storyteller

Shallowguy's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

MayVaneDay

I was going to be "Hold On Till May" or something artsy-fartsy like that, but nooo, that URL was taken.

Expedition Hobo

don't just see the world, see yourself in it

Goth Mom Gamer

Fear-filled fun: Autistic Recovering From Depression.

Ann Writes Inspiration

Writing from the heart, adds value to your life.

